THE ARIZONA WAY – 1

It is quiet in Phoenix. I think the entire Arizona is pretty quiet. I don’t hear people shouting at public places, people don’t play loud music in their cars (a common practice in my city – Karachi) and people don’t honk here in Phoenix. Never seen a single traffic jam in 21 days (back home there is not a single day when there is no traffic jam). Like other developed cities I don’t see the need for people to use horn most of the time. But come on one got to blow horn once in a while.

According to my adopted Grandfather, he has been living in Arizona for over 40 years, ‘You don’t hear a horn without hearing a crash first, in Arizona.’

I asked him, ‘Why? You got to honk sometimes.’

He replied, ‘No. In Arizona you don’t honk at people because who knows if he is angry and chances are that he has a gun under the dashboard. No you don’t want to piss of other people especially in the evening.’

Image
One thing I will miss the most about Phoenix is the silence on the roads.

You don’t over take people and always give the way to the car behind you for the same reason you don’t blow horn.

Leave a comment